Awards & Accomplishments

The John Williams Scholarship

Front Row,  Susan Garin, ICM Lead, Denise Forbes, CEO, Mr. Carl Williams of the John Williams Scholarship Foundation, Chris Shriver, 2017 John Williams Scholarship recipient; back row,  Reverend Mark George, pastor of Henry Memorial Presbyterian Church, Dublin, Georgia, and Charles Lang, John Williams Scholarship Board member.

The John Williams Scholarship is presented each year to a qualifying staff member from the CSB of Middle Georgia who is currently enrolled in a Master’s program in the Behavioral Health, Nursing, or Counseling field and whose life work revolves around working with individuals with severe and persistent mental illness. This scholarship is given by the John Williams Scholarship Foundation, in conjunction with Henry Memorial Presbyterian Church, and with support from the Carl and Mavis Williams Family in honor of their son, John Williams.  This year marks the 18th year that the scholarship has been awarded.

The Vessel of Life Award

Dr. J. Roy Rowland received the President’s Award for Distinguished Service to the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University, The Vessel of Life Award, on April 28, 2017.   Dr. Rowland was a member of the 1952 graduating class of the Medical College of Georgia.

Dr. J. Roy Rowland and his wife Luella

He has also recently published his memoirs, House Call: A Doctor’s Time in Medicine and Government. When Congress passed a bill in 1997 to name the pre-World War II federal courthouse in Dublin, Georgia in honor of J. Roy Rowland, the measure said the former Congressman and longtime family physician set the standard for standing firm on conviction and choosing honorable compromise for the good of the country. A moderate conservative, Dr. Rowland spent his career in public service fighting to resolve political and ideological differences at a time when virulent partisanship was beginning to paralyze the governmental process.

Dr. Rowland’s story spans more than 90 years from his days growing up in a small Georgia town during the Great Depression, to his experiences at war, to his career as a primary care doctor and then a maverick political figure during a period of turbulent change. And his story is still ongoing. He continues to practice medicine and speak out for bipartisan solutions to critical issues, including health care reform, urging Americans to learn from the past so history won’t repeat itself in current attempts to address the system’s pervasive problems.  The CSB of Middle Georgia is proud to call Dr. Rowland one of our own!

OBHS CSBMG Team Meet and Greet

Amy Tribble photo 4-13-2017
Amy Tribble CEO OBHS

Amy Tribble and OBHS hosted the CSBMG Team on April 13, 2017 for a “Meet and Greet” in Swainsboro in preparation of the forthcoming merger of the two agencies.  The CSB of Middle Georgia and Ogeechee Behavioral Health Services embarked upon a collaborative partnership, which was strongly encouraged by  the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities, in April of 2014.  Both agencies have worked tirelessly on a number of important projects over the past three years, including implementation of the same Electronic Medical Record for both agencies, CARF accreditation surveys during 2016 and 2017, and blending the Billing, Accounting, and Human Resource operations for both agencies.

Denise Forbes, CEO of CSBMG,  Amy Tribble, CEO of OBHS, and Judi Davis, CSGMB Board Chair, recently attended the CSB Association Meeting on February 23, 2017 in Atlanta, GA  where they were able to meet with Commissioner Judy Fitzgerald, Jeff Minor, and David Sofferin of DBHDD to discuss the impending merger/acquisition.  Following the meeting, the Department sent its letter of support for this collaboration with recommendations from the Department that the OBHS Board be dissolved and that the CSBMG Board  remain under the current Board of Health Structure.  Ogeechee’s Board members will become part of the CSB of Middle Georgia’s Advisory Board, which will allow for representation of Ogeechee’s six (6) counties.

The acquisition is slated for July 1st, 2017, and will bring the CSBMG’s catchment area to sixteen counties.  In addition to Bleckley, Dodge, Laurens, Johnson, Montgomery, Pulaski, Telfair, Treutlen, Wheeler and Wilcox, the territory will include Burke, Emanuel, Glascock, Jefferson, Jenkins, and Screven counties. The soon-to-be redrawn territory will stretch from the middle Georgia area to the border with South Carolina.   The population of CSBMG’s current 10 counties is 151,493, while Ogeechee’s population in six (6) counties is 88,789; bringing the combined area population for the 16 counties to 240,282.